“Books are for people who wish they were somewhere else.” ~ Mark Twain

Sunday, March 26, 2017

My Journals: P is for Pretty

It's not hoarding, it's a collection!
Blank journals are another weakness of mine. Even though I have an entire cabinet full of journals, I can't seem to stop collecting them! Not sure what I'm going to do with them all, but I can't seem to make it out of a bookstore with at least one.


browns and golds make the design really pop
Can't remember where or when I picked this one up, but I do remember falling in love with the pretty Celtic design! And while I usually prefer brighter colors, the earth shades work nicely with this design.


plain lined pages
Plain lined pages inside, with a convenient ribbon to hold my place.



Friday, March 24, 2017

March 2017 Write On Review-a-Thon

Create a post on your blog or a social media page with the list of what you’re going to review for the upcoming challenge.
March 24-26

It's been awhile since I last did a review-a-thon, but I'm behind on reviews so maybe this will give me the incentive I need to finally catch up!

How to Participate:


Create a post on your blog or a social media page with the list of what you’re going to review for the upcoming challenge.

The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 - if you write a review, you’re in. 

Join me in this month’s challenge and catch up on your reviews! 

Pending Reviews:

  • Snared by Jennifer Estep
  • A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
  • Perfect by Cecelia Ahern
  • All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai
  • Killing Kate by Alex Lake

Sad to say that my pending list is much, much longer, but this should be enough to get me started. 

Wish me luck!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell

A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.
Title:  A Simple Favor
Author:  Darcey Bell
Release Date:  March 21, 2017
Publisher:  HarperCollins
Source:  Edelweiss

She’s your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. (Goodreads)


Review:

Stephanie and Emily are best friends, so Stephanie doesn't think anything of it when Emily has a work emergency and asks if she can pick up her son from school.

A simple favor that moms do for each other all the time. But then Emily doesn't pick up her son. Doesn't answer her phone. Doesn't reply to Stephanie's increasingly anxious texts. Watching Emily's son for a few hours turns into a few days. Where is Emily?

And so begins an adventure that Stephanie could never have imagined.


Saturday, March 18, 2017

My Book Haul 3/18/2017

Pretend I'm Not Here, Hit The Ground Running, Pretty Fierce, Norse Mythology, and The Secret
In need of a new way to showcase titles, I decided that My Book Haul seems like a good fit. I like giving books a little special attention as sometimes it can be awhile before I'm able to review them. Sad to say, but some get put on the shelf and gather a little dust before I'm able to give them the love they deserve. I've included links to Goodreads if you want more information.

For Review:

Not my usual type of read, but I'm becoming more interested in politics lately and this sounded intriguing.

Pretend I'm Not Here by Barbara Feinman Todd
Pretend I'm Not Here by Barbara Feinman Todd

An accomplished former ghostwriter and book researcher who worked with Bob Woodward, Carl Bernstein, Ben Bradlee, and Hillary Clinton goes behind-the-scenes of the national’s capital to tell the story of how she survived the exciting, but self-important and self-promoting world of the Beltway. (Goodreads)


Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Book Review: The Bone Witch

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there's anything I've learned from him in the years since, it's that the dead hide truths as well as the living.
Title:  The Bone Witch
Author:  Rin Chupeco
Release Date:  March 7, 2017
Publisher:  Sourcebooks Fire
Source:  NetGalley

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. 

Her gift for necromancy means that she's a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. 

But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha -one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles...and make a powerful choice. (Goodreads)


Review:

This story has one of the best openings I've read in a long time:
Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. 

Talk about grabbing your attention on the very first page, with the very first sentence! Too bad the rest of the book didn't live up to that opening sentence.

The chapters alternate between past and present. In the present, a renown Bard has sought Tea out for her story, finding her exiled on a distant beach. I actually preferred the chapters set in the past, watching Tea's journey from child to accomplished Asha.


Sunday, March 12, 2017

My Journals: Amazing Grace

It's not hoarding, it's a collection!
Blank journals are another weakness of mine. Even though I have an entire cabinet full of journals, I can't seem to stop collecting them! Not sure what I'm going to do with them all, but I can't seem to make it out of a bookstore with at least one.

Couldn't resist picking this up for my mom!
Amazing Grace is my mother's favorite song, so couldn't resist picking this journal up for her!


Thursday, March 9, 2017

Book Review: The Mermaid's Daughter

Have you ever wondered if fairy tales were true? Or at least based on truth, even if they were embellished in the telling? That's the fascinating premise of The Mermaid's Daughter
Title:  The Mermaid's Daughter
Author:  Ann Claycomb
Release Date:  March 7, 2017
Publisher:  William Morrow Paperbacks
Source:  ARC received from the publisher

A modern-day expansion of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Mermaid, this unforgettable debut novel weaves a spellbinding tale of magic and the power of love as a descendent of the original mermaid fights the terrible price of saving herself from a curse that has affected generations of women in her family.

Kathleen has always been dramatic. She suffers from the bizarre malady of experiencing stabbing pain in her feet. On her sixteenth birthday, she woke screaming from the sensation that her tongue had been cut out. No doctor can find a medical explanation for her pain, and even the most powerful drugs have proven useless. Only the touch of seawater can ease her pain, and just temporarily at that.

Haunting and lyrical, The Mermaid’s Daughter asks - how far we will go for those we love? And can the transformative power of music overcome a magic that has prevailed for generations?
(Goodreads)


Review:

Have you ever wondered if fairy tales might be true? Or at least based on the truth, even if they were embellished in the telling? That's the fascinating premise of The Mermaid's Daughter.

We meet Kathleen, a gifted singer suffering from stabbing pain in both feet and the horrible sensation of a severed tongue. Delusion? Or the result of a family curse?

Kathleen, her father Robin, and her girlfriend Harry take turns narrating the story. Each chapter is clearly labeled so there's no confusion over whose POV we're reading. There's also an unnamed narrator, the originator of the curse, acting as sort of a Greek Chorus while filling in the blanks.


Monday, March 6, 2017

My Bookmarks: San Francisco on my mind

Since I collect bookmarks, thought it would be fun to showcase some of my collection!
(Inspired by Guiltless Reader's Bookmark Monday posts)


nice souvenir from an awesome city!
My brother sent me a bookmark from his recent trip to San Francisco. It's been years since I saw the city, so this was a nice surprise! The paper looks handmade and has a nice texture to it. The picture is pasted on, so there's depth to it as well. It's encased in plastic that I can't remove without scissors, so please forgive any glare. 

Close up



Copyright © alexia561.blogspot.com 2009-2016 - All Rights Reserved *graphics courtesy of Google Images, Travel Mania header courtesy of Blogtemplate4u