Book Review: The Uninvited | Alexia's Books and Such...: Book Review: The Uninvited

“Books are for people who wish they were somewhere else.” ~ Mark Twain

Monday, April 28, 2014

Book Review: The Uninvited

 photo uninvited.jpgThe Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

ARC received via Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann. (Goodreads)

My Thoughts:

Davy is a smart, talented, good-looking girl who seems to have it all. Until she tests positive for the so-called "kill gene" that is, then she suddenly becomes an outcast.

Everyone with the gene is labeled a murderer and ostracized. Uninvited from her prestigious school, she finds herself attending public school, where she's warehoused in a basement cage with other teen carriers. Quite a change from her formerly golden life.

Things go from bad to worse for Davy as society grows increasingly fearful of the carriers. Push comes to shove when some of the carriers decide that enough is enough. A little surprised that no one thought this would happen, as if you treat someone like a criminal, they'll eventually start to behave like a criminal. Has no one heard of a self-fulfilling prophecy? Isn't that Pysch 101?

In one way, Davy is lucky in that she's smart and talented and things aren't quite as bad for her as for others. But in other ways, her road is even rougher once she's singled out for special treatment.

Davy is an interesting character and I liked some of the allies she found. While I would have liked more information about the kill gene and why the majority of the population was okay with how they were treated, I did enjoy the story.

Curious if society would really react that way to the discovery of a so-called kill gene. Whatever happened to the Nature vs Nurture debate? Sad to say that I think our society would react poorly to this discovery and be all too willing to use carriers as a scapegoat for everything they're afraid of. Or maybe I'm just too cynical?

8 comments:

  1. I didn't like Sophie's other books but I'll have to give this one a try based on that weird synopsis. I'll probably hate it. Sigh.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've never read any of her other books, so may try them out. Will be curious to see what you think if you do read this one, as it seems to be getting mixed reviews.

      Delete
  2. I am really curious about this one. I love the premise!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm hoping she goes into more detail in the next book, as the premise is so intriguing!

      Delete
  3. Hmm, interesting. I can't exactly say this appeals to me but there is something about it that intrigues me. Great review, thank you.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The synopsis really called to me, but I just wish she had delved a little deeper into the so-called kill gene.

      Delete
  4. It made me think of HIV and what a lot of citizens would prefer if their children when to school with the infected. Too close to say, but I'm seeing a deeper message here.

    I hope it does well. It may open some eyes.

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Never thought of that, but you're right! Could be a hidden meaning like that, but it affected such a big segment of the population that I'm not sure if the author meant it that way. Would put an entirely different spin on things though. Clever!

      Delete

Copyright © alexia561.blogspot.com 2009-2016 - All Rights Reserved *graphics courtesy of Google Images, Travel Mania header courtesy of Blogtemplate4u