“Books are for people who wish they were somewhere else.” ~ Mark Twain

Sunday, March 26, 2017

My Journals: P is for Pretty

It's not hoarding, it's a collection!
Blank journals are another weakness of mine. Even though I have an entire cabinet full of journals, I can't seem to stop collecting them! Not sure what I'm going to do with them all, but I can't seem to make it out of a bookstore with at least one.


browns and golds make the design really pop
Can't remember where or when I picked this one up, but I do remember falling in love with the pretty Celtic design! And while I usually prefer brighter colors, the earth shades work nicely with this design.


plain lined pages
Plain lined pages inside, with a convenient ribbon to hold my place.



Friday, March 24, 2017

March 2017 Write On Review-a-Thon

Create a post on your blog or a social media page with the list of what you’re going to review for the upcoming challenge.
March 24-26

It's been awhile since I last did a review-a-thon, but I'm behind on reviews so maybe this will give me the incentive I need to finally catch up!

How to Participate:


Create a post on your blog or a social media page with the list of what you’re going to review for the upcoming challenge.

The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 - if you write a review, you’re in. 

Join me in this month’s challenge and catch up on your reviews! 

Pending Reviews:

  • Snared by Jennifer Estep
  • A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
  • Perfect by Cecelia Ahern
  • All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai
  • Killing Kate by Alex Lake

Sad to say that my pending list is much, much longer, but this should be enough to get me started. 

Wish me luck!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell

A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.
Title:  A Simple Favor
Author:  Darcey Bell
Release Date:  March 21, 2017
Publisher:  HarperCollins
Source:  Edelweiss

She’s your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. (Goodreads)


Review:

Stephanie and Emily are best friends, so Stephanie doesn't think anything of it when Emily has a work emergency and asks if she can pick up her son from school.

A simple favor that moms do for each other all the time. But then Emily doesn't pick up her son. Doesn't answer her phone. Doesn't reply to Stephanie's increasingly anxious texts. Watching Emily's son for a few hours turns into a few days. Where is Emily?

And so begins an adventure that Stephanie could never have imagined.


Saturday, March 18, 2017

My Book Haul 3/18/2017

Pretend I'm Not Here, Hit The Ground Running, Pretty Fierce, Norse Mythology, and The Secret
In need of a new way to showcase titles, I decided that My Book Haul seems like a good fit. I like giving books a little special attention as sometimes it can be awhile before I'm able to review them. Sad to say, but some get put on the shelf and gather a little dust before I'm able to give them the love they deserve. I've included links to Goodreads if you want more information.

For Review:

Not my usual type of read, but I'm becoming more interested in politics lately and this sounded intriguing.

Pretend I'm Not Here by Barbara Feinman Todd
Pretend I'm Not Here by Barbara Feinman Todd

An accomplished former ghostwriter and book researcher who worked with Bob Woodward, Carl Bernstein, Ben Bradlee, and Hillary Clinton goes behind-the-scenes of the national’s capital to tell the story of how she survived the exciting, but self-important and self-promoting world of the Beltway. (Goodreads)


Copyright © alexia561.blogspot.com 2009-2016 - All Rights Reserved *graphics courtesy of Google Images, Travel Mania header courtesy of Blogtemplate4u